Skip to content ↓


As from the 1st April 2016 St. Gregory’s Catholic Primary School, along with The Good Shepherd and St. Mary’s Primary Schools and Thomas Becket Secondary School is governed by St. Thomas of Canterbury Academy Trust (STCAT).


The members of the board to date are:

David Williams, MBE JP (Chair).with experience in business management and school governance

Collette Curtis, extensive experience working for the local authority education service

Rosemarie Jones, extensive experience in the Diocese in Primary Education

Chris Atkin, experience as a headteacher and many years working in a Catholic Diocese

Catherine McCarron, with experience of the Further Education sector

Tim Redding, with experience in finance as the Diocesan Financial Secretary

Fr Brendan Seery, Priest at the Cathedral and extensive knowledge of Catholic Life

Neil Roseman, with experience in Chaplaincy  Pastoral matters

Teresa Elkin Clerk to the MAT

Any change to move to academy status brings many questions. At the same time it also opens up many opportunities for us all and for the future of Catholic education in Northampton town. Our sincere conviction is that moving to academy status will ensure a successful future for each of the schools in the Trust, working together in partnership.

We will work in collaboration with the head teachers if the schools, supported by Maxine Clewlow as our educational lead in the first few months of transition. Each school will also have a local governing committee sharing in the school’s day to day running with the headteacher, leadership team and staff. We will build on all that so may people have contributed to our schools over recent years as staff, governors, members of the IEB and advisors. Now we look positively to a secure future for us all.”  Monsignor Kevin McGinnell, Chair of the Trust.

St Mary's Local Governing Board Committee Members

Hugh Williams - Chair of Committee

Deacon Michael O'Leary - Foundation Governor

Michael O'Neill - Foundation Governor

Pauline O'Neill - Co -Opted Governor

Emma Curry - Staff Elected Governor

If you are interested in being involved in governance of any of the schools please speak to the headteacher of your school.

If you require any further information please